Do mosquitoes prefer certain blood types?

Posted: January 26, 2009 in science & technology
Tags:

aedes_aegypti

Another piece of trivia I gonna delete from my archive: in terms of human blood types, mosquitoes don’t seem to care. But the little buggers do prefer the blood of some animals to others. In fact, each species of mosquito seems to have a definite animal preference. Surprisingly, humans aren’t the preferred blood bank for many mosquitoes, apart from the Anopheles gambiae variety.

It may be small consolation, but mosquitoes do have their reasons for sucking blood — blood proteins help the females lay eggs. The insects have sensors that help them find food and blood and detect carbon dioxide, which they are naturally drawn to. Mammals and birds exhale carbon dioxide, and mosquitoes can sense it from up to 100 feet away. The bugs see movement and detect visual contrast, and can also sense heat, which helps them find warm-blooded creatures like us.

Combined with carbon dioxide, certain odors like sweat and perfume can be a strong lure for mosquitoes. Curiously enough, scientists have found that drinking beer or eating Limburger cheese will make a person more attractive to mosquitoes (although probably less attractive to fellow humans).

 

Comments
  1. anonomous person on the street says:

    Actually, mosquitoes do prefer a certain blood type. O blood, as opposed to A, B, and AB, secretes more odors and “mosquito attracter” than other blood types do. However, another factor is genetics and people with genetics for O blood usually have genetics for more sweat and uric acid, causing the mosquito come closer for a better look.

  2. dancharles45 says:

    Thankfully O type blood is rare, but this makes me feel bad for people with this blood type, especially if they drink beer outside on a hot day while eating Limburger cheese.
    Certain traps, such as the Mosquito Magnet, use mosquitoes’ attraction to human breath against them by emitting CO2 as a lure.

  3. Doc says:

    Uhhh, you’re a a bit confused there Dan. Type O is the most common blood type. It is not rare at all.

    AB is the rarest of the 4 common blood types.

  4. melissa says:

    my blood type is A+ and im an absolute mosquito magnet.

  5. Laura says:

    I’m AB- and I get bit all the time. No one around me gets bit, I get all the bites. So annoying!

  6. Alice says:

    I’m AB- also and always get bitten over my O+ friend. My brother and sister have A+ blood and get bitten lots too

  7. Kalya says:

    I have AB blood and i get bitten a lot, but my mom and brother dont seem to have 13 bites on their left arm ( yes, i have 13)

  8. reana says:

    im AB+ and i get bitten by all bugs, mosquitoes and fleas its so annoying and my grandparents are O+ and they never get bitten.

    • Joanne teahan says:

      Yes I’m AB- and my bites when I go abroad are shocking. I had to attend A & E when I last came back, my bites turned into massive Blisters and then big black dee scabs, I do not believe they go for people with O blood, there the only people I was with and either hardly got bit or there bites we’re like pinpricks.

  9. vbb says:

    MOSQUITO BLOOD GROUP IS( + -ABO )

    PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM MOSQUITO
    THEY DRINK EVERY ONES BLOOD .
    AND AIDS IS CAUSED WHEN YOU COME CONTACT WITH SOME OTHER BOOD TYPE , IN THIS CASE MOSQUITO IS THE MEDIATOR AND IN HER TANK BLOOD GETS MIXED AND CREATES A AIDS VIRUS .
    FOR THIS USE MOSQUITO REPLICANTS ON YOUR BODY , THEY ARE NATURAL , APPLY SOME OF IT ON MOSQUITO:S FACE AND I KNOW IT WILL SURELY MAKE HER MOUTH SOUR AND SHE WILL NOT BITE ANY PERSON AND DIE . ONE MAY FEEL SORRY FOR HER CHILDREN BUT
    IF WANT SOMETHING YOU HAVE TO LOSE SOMETHING .

  10. Kiran says:

    My blood group is b+ ,i am common in my family to get hurted by mosquitoes.y?????

  11. I also disagree. I am AB+ and get bit all the time, even when it seems no one else does. I get these large welts, about the size of a quarter, sometimes larger. I had a boyfriend once that was type O and he seemed to never get bit.

  12. lynnia says:

    how do u get rid of the scars and purple welts from the misquito bites, its so horrible on me that it looks like i have a disease. im a O negative and im like a walking candy cane LOL.

Leave a Reply

