Not getting too hyped up about Google’s new phone sync

Posted: February 10, 2009 in science & technology
Tags: , ,

It’s a good step in the right direction. Google has just released Google Sync, a two-way service that synchronises your Google Contacts and Calendar wirelessly to your iPhone, BlackBerry, Symbian, or Windows Mobile phone. Google Sync uses a Microsoft Exchange server to keep all of your contact and calendar data in sync over the air.

From an iPhone user point if view Google Sync is of course a much more convenient then having to use iTunes and third party software (such as Spanning Sync) to do the same job. At the same time Google Sync has its limitations. Apart from being released in typical Google fashion as a beta with a few known problems, one drawback for me is that I can have only one sync account, which means for example I can have only one calendar (certainly also a problem for people who have a private and a work calendar). Furthermore, Google also replace all existing contacts with your Gmail contacts, which in my case isn’t a problem because I have synchronised them already in this way, but it could be quite a messy affair for someone who hasn’t.

Right now my Spanning Sync account will run till August this year, and while using that method of synchronising my data is a bit more inconvenient, I think I’ll wait for Google Sync to mature a bit more.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments
  1. […] Not getting too hyped up about Google’s new phone sync (isiria.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Not getting too hyped up about Google’s new phone sync (isiria.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Ted says:

    I feel the same way. I’ve been using the app sync in a blink and I think I’ll stick with it for now. It provides alot more functionality and doesn’t use up an exchange activesync account.

Leave a Reply

