Drive-in movie theatre powered by wind energy

Posted: April 9, 2009 in science & technology, society
Tags: ,

drive-ins

I have say, I’ve never been to a drive-in. They’re not as popular anymore of course as they probably were in the 1950s and 60s, and they generally probably show movies I wouldn’t wanna watch anyway – they’re certainly not a place for arthouse flics. And also, the whole concept relies on the use of cars, which nowadays doesn’t make sense anymore.

Having said that: I guess in future they could be visited by people moving around in PUMAs, which would go nicely hand-in-hand with what the owners of the Harvest Moon Holiday Twin Drive-In in Gibson City, Illinois, just did: installing two small wind turbines on their premises that they hope will ultimately produce 100% of the theater’s electricity.

I’m still not sure though whether going to a wind-powered drive-in in my PUMA would be novel enough for me to endure the insult to my senses by Wolverine – after all, the PUMA would be just too small for the excitement of more romantic distractions😉 .

[Via CleanTechnica; image from www.myspace.com/killself]

Comments

Leave a Reply

